Mon. Apr 22nd, 2024


Mumbai are trailing Tamil Nadu by 111 runs after bowling them out for 146 runs on Day 1 of their Ranji Trophy semi-final, while MP bundled Vidarbha for 170 runs in their first innings in the second semi-final.

Tamil Nadu skipper Sai Kishore won the toss and, to the surprise of many, opted to bat first on what looked like a green-top pitch at Bandra Kurla Complex in Mumbai.


Mumbai got off to a dream start with Shardul Thakur dismissing the dangerous Sai Sudharan in the first over itself. Narayan Jagadeesan followed Sudharsan back in the pavilion, before Tushar Deshpande dismissed Pradosh Ranjan Paul.

Deshpande piled further misery on Tamil Nadu, cleaning up skipper Sai Kishore to leave his side reeling at 17 for 4 after 10.1 overs.

Baba Indrajith and Vijay Shankar tried to settle Tamil Nadu’s innings, but Deshpande broke their partnership in the 17th over, dismissing Indrajith after scoring 11 runs off 25 deliveries.

Shankar formed a 48-run stand with Washington Sundar, before being dismissed by Shardul after scoring 44 runs off 109 deliveries, while hitting eight boundaries.

U-19 World Cup star Musheer Khan sent Mohammed Mohammed packing, before Tanush Kotian dismissed Ajith Ram in the 61st over.

Sandeep Warrier fell for a duck at the hands of Musheer, before Sundar was caught LBW by Kotian after scoring a 138-ball 43. Mumbai bundled Tamil Nadu for an under-par score of 146.

Deshpande was the pick of the Mumbai bowlers, claiming three wickets while giving away 24 runs in 12 overs, while Musheer, Shardul and Kotian chipped in with two wickets each.


Fats-bowler Kuldeep Sen got his side off to a flyer, dismissing Prithvi Shaw for just 5 runs in the second over. Opener Bhupen Lalwani became the next Mumbai batter to fall as Sai Kishore stuck in the 14th over.

However, Musheer along with night watchman Mohit Avasthi made sure that Mumbai do not lose any more wickets on Day 1, as they ended with 45 for 2 at stumps, trailing Tamil Nadu by 101 runs.

On Day 2, all eyes will be on Shreyas Iyer, who is pipped to walk in to bat at number 5 after skipper Ajinkya Rahane. Iyer has been removed from BCCI’s list of centrally contracted players after he failed to turn up for Mumbai’s Ranji matches prior to the semi-finals.


A brilliant fast-bowling display from Avesh Khan put Madhya Pradesh in a commanding position in their semi-final against Vidarbha. Avesh claimed four wickets as MP bowled out Vidarbha for 170 runs on Day 1.

The 2021/22 champions ended the day at 47 for 1, trailing Vidarbha by 123 runs with Himanshu Mantri and Harsh Gawli in the middle.

Published By:

Rounaq Sehrawat

Published On:

Mar 2, 2024


Source link