Wed. Apr 24th, 2024


NEW DELHI: The stage is set for a thrilling clash between India and Australia in the World Cup final in Ahmedabad. The rivalry between these two cricketing giants has provided fans with some of the most engaging contests in recent times, and the final promises to be no different.
India, the favourites, have had a stellar run in the tournament, starting with a comprehensive victory over second-ranked Australia in their opening match.They went on to achieve an impressive 10-win streak, securing their place in the final with an unblemished record on home turf.

Australia, on the other hand, faced initial setbacks with two defeats but bounced back strongly with an eight-match winning streak to reach the final. Fast bowler Mitchell Starc expressed the team’s eagerness to take on the best, acknowledging India’s dominant performance in the tournament.

India’s captain, Rohit Sharma, has been leading from the front with unbridled aggression at the top of the order, providing a platform for others to play with more freedom. Virat Kohli, the tournament’s leading scorer, has been a trusted anchor, and the team has followed a familiar template, with the top order making significant contributions.
The semi-final victory against New Zealand, a team considered India’s bogey side in knockout matches, has answered questions about India’s ability to handle pressure in crucial situations. Rohit emphasised the superb batting performance, highlighting the top five or six batters’ ability to make their opportunities count.
Here’s everything you need to know about the ICC ODI World Cup final between India and Australia:
What:India vs Australia, 2023 ODI World Cup Final
When: November 19 (Sunday)
Where: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
Time: 1400 IST
Where to watch: Live stream/telecast on Disney Hotstar and Star Sports Networks
Where to follow Live:
Playing XIs (Likely):
India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj
Australia: Travis Head, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Josh Inglis (wk), Pat Cummins (c), Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood


Source link